Big ideas, medium-sized words

Here are all my notes from Comics Forum 2014.  Speakers’ names and presentation titles are in the images.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image image
image
image

image
I found it intellectually hard (rigorous? demanding? really hard) to swap between each presenter’s academic approach. My own academic work is from a History and Education standpoint, so whilst I thought most of Comics Forum was on fairly familiar social science ground there were some subject-specific bits that puzzled me. This isn’t a criticism – if anything, it’s a positive – but boy there was a lot of thinking.

I learned stuff from each presentation I saw. I thought the blocks of presentations were well themed, and the magic of #comicsforum14 on twitter was a great way to follow the presentations I wasn’t in. The organisation of the event was great and the tiles in Leeds City Library were beeeee-you-tiiiii-ful. Good times, and good breaktime chats about current and potential projects.
image

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

