Always explain, always anthologise.

My contributor copy of Dirty Rotten Comics 4 arrived, oh yeah oh yeah.  And my contributor copies of Double Nickels came a while back, yeah yeah yeah. And there’s a new Paper Jam comics anthology, Food and that. Yeaaaaah.

I enjoyed being part of all three anthologies. They have the fun, DIY, punk approach to comics that I love. As much as I’m leading equally fun and beloved projects through Applied Comics Etc, being able to make whatever comics I darn well please means a lot to me. And being part of other people’s anthology projects, set up with compatible mindsets, means a lot.

Anyway enough gushing, here are some photos.

image

image

My comic for DRC4, ‘Gossip Girls’, is a linocut I made when the whole Sony Pictures hacking thing kicked off. Then I saw on twitter that @dirtyrottencomx were looking for submissions for their next anthology, which was black & white and A5 printing size, so that was a nice fit. I sent in a b&w scan, they accepted it, job done.

image

image

image

My comic for Double Nickels, ‘Political song for Michael Jackson to sing’, is drawn using a dip pen and ink. I saw @wcraghead’s call for contributors on twitter, then followed the links to the list of available songs, then emailed Warren to ask to be involved and bagsy a song. Drew it, scanned it, sent it, job done.

image

image

My comic for Paper Jam’s Food and that, ‘My new favourite meal’, is about the Wetherspoons pub food menu so was drawn and inked on the back of a Wetherspoons pub food menu, in the pub after the meeting at which the anthology title was chosen project got going. I scanned it, sent it in a choice of two versions to see which printed best (this comic is greyscale, the other two were b&w), and the printing isn’t great… but that doesn’t matter. Much like travel comics, too much tweaking and adjusting takes away from the I-was-there-ness of the comic.

For future reference: make comics, get comics in anthologies, meet new comics people, be realistic about what comics drawn on Wetherspoons pub food menus will look like when you’re not in control of the printing.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

